Starting fresh

fresh

Image courtesy of Seth Anderson

Last week, I had the privilege of giving a session at the annual TESL Ontario conference in Toronto. I had a good time and met a number of really great people. As I continue to give this sessions, webinars, or certificate programs, I am starting to realize the gap in what teachers want to achieve with their students using technology and the knowledge level some instructors have in using computers, mobile phones, and the like. Yes, there are some who don’t even want to try to discover what they can accomplish in collaboration with their students throughout the use of these devices, but I feel there is an overwhelmingly large group of educators who really want to do something more yet simply don’t know where to start.

Early 2012, I started to blog and speak about the use of technology as a collaborative tool inside and outside of the classroom. This hasn’t changed, but I am beginning to see that my use of this blog and Twitter may not be reaching the people who need it most. Also, I am learning to be more focused and contained in how I approach things. I need to make these instructional moments accessible for all levels of users. So, from this point on, I will attempt to write each post on this blog in stages so that those who know more can skip over sections to get to the section that helps them most. Think of it like a flowchart. If you know this, go here; if not, do this. I also would like to provide a printable version of each post so that you, the people who work with others who may need assistance, can print off these instructions and give them to those who may never visit this blog. I realize that sounds a bit ‘archaic’, but I think we need to be helping those who need it most.

Also, I am going to be doing some ‘blogkeeping’ by cleaning up broken links, deleting irrelevant posts, and so on in order to make this a place you can reference when you need it. At the moment, it is very random and hasn’t been well taken care of on my part. I promise to make it better. Really.

I would love your input. I have always wanted this to be a place that other could have their input. I don’t want this to just be about me. Share your ideas, your critiques, and your passion. I would love to get to know each one of you better so I can make this place of collaboration.

Thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you come again!

2 thoughts on “Starting fresh

  1. Great session you did at TESL Ontario Conference. I am finally on Edmodo and did their free webinair today. Think that this will be a way to use technology in the classroom that is intuitive in terms of its user friendliness both for instructor and students.

Leave a Reply

