Using Quizlet in the language classroom

Screen Shot 2018-05-19 at 4.32.02 PM

This past week, I had the opportunity to be one of the conference speakers at the ACE Conference and I mentioned in one of my sessions that I make use of Quizlet in my classroom in a number of different ways. After the session, one of the participants ask if I would share some of the ways in which I use Quizlet with my students, leading me to write this post. This isn’t meant to be an exhaustive overview of Quizlet, but simply some of the ways I have used it in my classroom.

For those new to Quizlet, it is an online flashcard tool that has a few interesting features including the ability to hear the words and definitions being read out by a very good text to speech function. It also has the ability to tag images with words and definitions, and the ability to add images to the definitions. Quizlet has an excellent help section on their site along with a number of video tutorials on their YouTube channel.

Here are some of the ways I have used it in my language classroom:

  1. Definitions: This is the most common way teachers use Quizlet. Simply take some of the words from a reading or something you have covered in class and put them together with a definition. If I am covering something from a book or handout, I may use the definitions from the book. If not, I usually copy the definition from Macmillan Dictionary since it is designed for English language learners. Example: Video Gamers
  2. Pronunciation: The text to speech function on Quizlet usually works pretty well. Sometimes, I will jot down some words I hear in class that are being pronounced improperly and I will make a Quizlet set and ask my students to listen to the pronunciation as homework. It works best with the Spell function on Quizlet. Example: Pronunciation
  3. Collocations:  Instead of using a definition of the word, I give three other words that normally go together with that word. To have this work well, you have to make sure there is only one clear answer. This works really well with Quizlet Live as well. Example: Collocations
  4. Sentence structure: Have a correctly written sentence in the term section, and mix up sections of the sentence in the definition section. This works really well with the Write section. Example: Present Simple
  5. Pictures: You can upload an image and then click on areas of the image to mark items in the image. This works really well with a scene like what you would find in an IKEA catalogue. Example: Living Room

I know some of you have used Quizlet in other ways, so feel free to share in the comments section.

5 comments

    • Thanks for the comment, Peter. I actually use Quizlet primarily as a self-study tool, especially for review at home. If comments from my students are any indication, it seems to be working. They keep asking for more! Thanks for the link. I’ll check it out.

  1. Thank you for another great post. I sometimes use Quizlet for the “spot the mistake” exercise, contrasting the correct and incorrect sentence, and for Czech declesions, ie students put the word from the term section to the correct case. Also for Czech we use it to contrast the perfective and imperfective verb forms and verb conjugations in general.

Leave a comment